Deaneries

The Diocese of California is organized into six deaneries (a group of congregations). The Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Southern Alameda deaneries cover their respective counties; the Peninsula Deanery consists of all of San Mateo County and a small portion of Santa Clara County.

The deaneries hold convocations/meetings three to four times each year; contact the deanery president or officers for exact meeting dates and locations if not listed here.
 
 

2016 DEANERY OFFICERS

Deanery-elected members to diocesan Executive Council are listed on the Executive Council web page here.
 

ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: Krista Fregoso, associate@stjohnsoakland.org
Vice-president: Scott Buckingham, b.scott.buckingham@gmail.com
Secretary: Sandy Burnett, sgburnett@comcast.net
Treasurer: Greg Hintz, greg@hintz.us

2016 Convocations (all from 6:45 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.)

March 1 — St. Paul’sJune 9 — St. JamesSeptember 8 — St. Augustine’sNovember 10 — Christ Church

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: Coryl Lassen
Lay: Helen Sauce, h@hsause.com


CONTRA COSTA

Officers
President: Sylvia Vasquez, svasquez@stpaulswc.org
Vice-president: Roseanna Conlon
Secretary: Fran Gardner-Smith
Treasurer: Mary-Jane Wood, mjwood3176@yahoo.com

2016 Convocations (all from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.)
March 10 — St. Michael’s; June 16 — ; September 15 — ; November 17 — 

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Jane Stratford
Lay: Loana O’Connor


MARIN DEANERY

Officers
President: Jay Luther, jluther@lutherlaw.com
Vice-president: Carol Luther, cluther@well.com
Treasurer: Betsy Guthrie, betsyguthrie@comcast.net
Secretary: Mary Jane Chetelat, mjchetelat@sbcglobal.net

2016 Convocations
February 24 — St. Paul’s, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; May 21 — Our Saviour, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.;  September 14 — St. Stephen’s, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m.; November 19 — Nativity, 9 a.m. to 11 a.m.

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Molly Haws, vicar.redeemer@gmail.com  
Lay: Ruth Baney, rrbaney@aol.com


PENINSULA  DEANERY

Bylaws

Officers
President: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net
Vice-president: Rebecca Goldberg, rgold63641@aol.com
Secretary: Janet Christensen, janetchristensen@sbcglobal.net
Treasurer: Irene Lawrence, irenelawrence42@gmail.com

2016 Convocations
March 5 — St. Andrew’s, 10 a.m. to 12 noon;  June 23 — Transfiguration, 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. (evening social); September 17 — St. Edmund’s, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m.; November 10 — St. Bede’s, 6 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Anna Lange-Soto  ablange@aol.com
Lay: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net


SAN FRANCISCO DEANERY

Officers
President: Sarah Lawton, sarahelawton@gmail.com
Vice-president for Clergy: Margaret Trezevant, ptrezevant@gmail.com
Vice-president for Lay: Laura Curlin, lecurlin@gmail.com
Secretary: Peggy Lo, lopeggy@gmail.com
Treasurer: Peter Fairfield, peterlinnea@earthlink.net

2016 Convocations (all from 9 a.m. to 12 noon)

March 12 — St. Mary the Virgin; May 14 — St. Gregory of Nyssa; September 10 — Trinity+St. Peter’s; November 12 — St. James’

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Diana Wheeler, dianarwheeler@gmail.com
Lay: Peggy Lo, lopeggy@gmail.com


SOUTHERN ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: Ron Culmer, onebreadonecup@msn.com
Vice President: Scott Whitaker
Secretary: Diane Granlund
Treasurer: Jim DeMersman

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: vacant
Lay: Terri Minnis, tlminnis@comcast.net