Deaneries

The Diocese of California is organized into six deaneries (a group of congregations). The Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and Southern Alameda deaneries cover their respective counties; the Peninsula Deanery consists of all of San Mateo County and a small portion of Santa Clara County.

The deaneries hold convocations/meetings three to four times each year; contact the deanery president or officers for exact meeting dates and locations if not listed here.
 
 

2019 DEANERY OFFICERS

Deanery-elected members to diocesan Executive Council are listed on the Executive Council web page here.
 

ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers

President--Sandy Burnette, sgburnett51@gmail.com
Vice President—Carolyn George, cgeorge207@yahoo.com
Treasurer—Pamela Kruse-Buckingham, pamela.kruse.buckingham@gmail.com
Secretary—Robin Henke, rrhenke@rti.org

2019 meetings: All meetings begin with dinner at 6:30 p.m., meeting begins at 7 p.m.

March 14, June 13, September 12, and November 14. 

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Lay: Helen Sauce, h@hsause.com

Churches
All Souls, Berkeley
Christ Church, Alameda
Christ the Lord, Pinole
Good Shepherd, Berkeley
Holy Trinity/La Santisima Trinidad, Richmond
Our Saviour, Oakland
St. Alban's, Albany
St. Augustine's, Oakland
St. Clement's, Berkeley
St. Cuthbert's, Oakland
St. James'/Iglesia de Santiago, Oakland
St. John's, Oakland
St. Mark's, Berkeley
St. Paul's, Oakland


CONTRA COSTA DEANERY

Officers
President: Jim Wiant, wiant@comcast.com
Vice President: the Rev. Todd Bryant
Secretary: Carol Richardson, cmrich3@gmail.com
Treasurer: Ken Jessup, kenj747@aol.com

2019 meetings: All meetings begin with dinner at 6:30 p.m. There is a $10 suggested donation.
March 21 — St. Paul's, Walnut Creek; June 20 — St. Timothy's, Danville; September 5 — St. Anselm's, Lafayette; November 14 — Grace, Martinez           

Executive Council Representatives
The Rev. Jane Stratford, jane@ststephensorinda.org
Jim Wiant, wiant.jim@gmail.com

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Lay: Harlan Van Wye, coronado34@aol.com
Clergy: the Rev. Walter Ramsey

Churches
Grace, Martinez
Resurrection, Pleasant Hill
St. Anna's, Antioch
St. Anselm's, Lafayette
St. John's, Clayton
St. Mark's, Crockett
St. Michaels and All Angels, Concord
St. Paul's, Walnut Creek
St. Stephen's, Orinda
St. Timothy's, Danville


MARIN DEANERY

Officers

President: Joe Jennings, josephwjennings@sbcglobal.net
Vice-President (acting): Margaret Trezevant
Second Vice-President: Jay Luther, jluther@lutherlaw.com
Secretary: (open)
Treasurer: Connie Granger, conniecg@aol.com

2019 meetings

  • Wednesday, February 13, 6:30-9 p.m. – St. Francis of Assisi, Novato  
  • Saturday, May 4, 9-11:30 a.m. — Redeemer, San Rafael
  • Wednesday, September 11, 6:30-9 p.m. — St. John’s, Ross
  • Saturday, November 16, 9-11:30 a.m. — Nativity, San Rafael

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Lay: Ruth Baney, rrbaney@aol.com

Executive Committee
The Rev. Margaret Trezevant, ptrezevant@gmail.com
Wendy Olson, wendyolson63@gmail.com

Churches
Christ Church, Sausalito
Holy Innocents', Corte Madera
Nativity, San Rafael
New Skellig Celtic Christian Community, Inverness
Our Saviour, Mill Valley
Redeemer, San Rafael
St. Aidan's, Bolinas
St. Columba's, Inverness
St. Francis of Assisi, Novato
St. John's, Ross
St. Paul's, San Rafael
St. Stephen's, Belvedere


PENINSULA  DEANERY

Bylaws

Officers
President: the Rev. Lindy Bunch, lindy@saint-marks.com
Vice-president: Aidan Jobe Sea, aidan@jobesea.com
Secretary: Romain Kang, romain2k@gmail.com
Treasurer: Yvonne Sidell, ceo@mobilecertservices.com

2019 Convocations

Saturday, February 16, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m., at Transfiguration, San Mateo
Thursday, June 27, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., Holy Family, Half Moon Bay
Saturday, September 14, 10 a.m. to 12 p.m., St. Mark's, Palo Alto
Thursday, November 14, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m., location TBD

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Lay: Jon Harvey
Lay: Diane FitzGibbon, dfitzgibbon@sbcglobal.net

Churches
Christ Church, Los Altos
Christ Church, Portola Valley
El Buen Pastor, Redwood City
Epiphany, San Carlos
Good Shepherd, Belmont
Holy Child and St. Martin, Daly City
Holy Family, Half Moon Bay
SEA Episcopal, San Bruno and South San Francisco
St. Ambrose, Foster City
St. Bede's, Menlo Park
St. Edmund's, Pacifica
St. Elizabeth's, South San Franciso
St. Mark's, Palo Alto
St. Matthew's, San Mateo
St. Paul's, Burlingame
St. Peter's, Redwood City
Transfiguration, San Mateo
Trinity, Menlo Park


SAN FRANCISCO DEANERY

Officers
President: Laura Curlin, lecurlin@gmail.com
Vice-president for Clergy: the Rev. Jane McDougle, jane@holyinsf.org
Vice-president for Lay: Mike Chambers, mcham31153@aol.com 
Secretary: Brian Protheroe, brian.protheroe@gmail.com 
Treasurer: Peter Fairfield, peterlinnea@earthlink.net

2019 Convocations, the following Saturdays, 9 a.m. to 12 noon (begins with morning prayer):
March 9 — St. James, May 11 — St. Mary the Virgin, September 14 — St. Aidan's, November 16 — Holy Innocents

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: the Rev. Hannah Cornthwaite, hcornthw@gmail.com
Lay: Birgit Eschmann, b_eschmann@yahoo.com

Churches (all in San Francisco)
All Saints
Advent of Christ the King
Christ Church Sei Ko Kai
Grace Cathedral
Holy Innocents'
Incarnation
St. Aidan's
St. Cyprian's
St. Francis
St. Gregory of Nyssa
St. James
St. John the Evangelist
St. Luke's
St. Mary the Virgin
Trinity + St. Peter's
True Sunshine


SOUTHERN ALAMEDA DEANERY

Officers
President: the Rev. Lori Walton, lori@saintj.com
Vice President: 
Secretary: Diane Granlund, granlund@att.net
Treasurer: Jim DeMersman, jimdem1957@aol.com

2019 Meetings

Saturday, January 26, at the Bishop's Ranch
Sunday, September 22, 2pm (Convention discussion), at St. Clare's, Pleasanton
Sunday, December 8, 2pm, at St. Clare's, Pleasanton

Diocesan Committee on Nominations
Clergy: TBA
Lay: TBA

Churches
All Saints', San Leandro
Holy Cross, Castro Valley
St. Anne's, Fremont
St. Bartholomew's, Livermore
St. Clare's, Pleasanton
St. James', Fremont