Bishops of California

To view or download a high resolution image, click on the thumbnail; click on the names to link to internet articles.

I. William Ingraham Kip (con. 1853)* 1857-1893

II. William Ford Nichols (con. 1890) 1893-1924

III. Edward Lambe Parsons (con. 1919) 1924-1940

IV. Karl Morgan Block (con. 1938) 1940-1958

V. James Albert Pike 1958-1966

VI. C. Kilmer Myers 1966-1979

VII. William E. Swing (con. 1979) 1980-2006

VIII. Marc Handley Andrus (con. 2002) 2006-present

*Bishop Kip was consecrated and sent to California as a missionary bishop. He arrived in 1854 and was elected diocesan 1857.