Our History

The Episcopal Church in the Bay Area is a diocese, or administrative area, of the Episcopal Church based in San Francisco, California. It occupies territory first inhabited by the Ohlone (including the Chochenyo, the Karkin, the Ramaytush, the Yokuts, and the Muwekma tribes); the Graton Rancheria community (the Coast Miwok and Southern Pomo tribes); the Kashaya; the Patwin; the Mishewal Wappo; and the Bay Miwok.

Also known as the Episcopal Diocese of California, it was organized in 1850 and originally encompassed the entire state. Today, the diocese comprises Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, San Francisco, and San Mateo Counties, as well as a portion of Santa Clara County.